Tags

, , , , ,

I’ll tell you a little something about me. About 6 weeks ago I broke up with a guy that I’d being seeing for almost 2 1/2 years. I guess some things just aren’t meant to be. I still cry when I hear love songs and see happy couples embracing, which is all the time here in “Make Out Montreal”. I think it’s the French influence in Quebec that makes couples want to profess their love and show off their out of control hormones for all the world to see. Either way, it’s making me feel kinda sad and lonely. Love, love, love…

Most people see me as someone who’s not very sentimental but is very independent. The truth is I’m a romantic at heart. I especially love the roaring twenties and am thrilled that they’re making a comeback. The sooner the hipster fascination with the eighties is over, the better. There I said it. You can send hate mail to me. I don’t care.

One of the most influential  designers from the twenties and thirties is Madeleine Vionnet. Responsible for popularizing the always flattering bias cut. Her design business ran from 1919 to 1939 and, 67 years later, was revived in 2007. It’s currently designed by Rodolfo Paglialunga. You don’t know him? Neither do I but I found out that he designed womenswear for Prada for 13 years and also spent 4 years at Romeo Gigli. We can only expect great things from him. No pressure Rudy!!  No one’s looking. Really!

Working with silks and tulles, it turns an accidental brush against the clothes, into an erotic experience. Although the below pictures are for Spring/Summer 2012, they are very in tune with, and a precursor to, the Spring/Summer 2013 superhero trends that are creeping into fashion. Dear lord, what will we do for Halloween if we dress like superheroes in our everyday life? I don’t know. I guess I’ll have to drag out the naughty nurse outfit from the back of the closet again.  But, I’m getting off track. Ultra feminine designs are not the standard in this summer’s Vionnet collection but there are a few that really stand out and make me want to empty my bank account to buy them. Unless I can find them for an incredible price, a trip to the local luxury department store’s dressing room will have to do. If you can’t own it you can always try it on for a few minutes and dream (and maybe snap a few pics to post on facebook)!

