Tags

, , ,

 

Lately I’ve been watching the “Breaking Bad” series because a) all the cool kids are watching it and I want to be cool, b) I need a good escape during the week that isn’t bad for my health (although watching this show makes point “b” debatable) and c) I desperately want to find a way to make some quick cash and am hoping to pick up a few good pointers along the way. So anyway, the series has me thinking about secret lives and how a lot of us have them. I know I do and I’m pretty sure you’re no different.

A story – when I lived in London I worked at the beauty salon at Harvey Nichols department store. We regularly served clients who were British royalty, supermodels and movie stars. It was always fun to see who would show up next and how they would behave. Just for the record – British royalty behaved the best and the American movie stars and starlets were the absolute worse.

Like most salons, the staff could be flamboyant and, knew how to have some over the top fun in the back room. The managers however were a different ballgame. Given the clients we were serving, the managers were like a group of monkeys waiting for the last banana to fall from the tree; never taking their eyes off us and giving us “the Look” or worse yet, “the Verbal Warning aka the Bitching” if we didn’t live up to their ideals of how ladies and gentlemen should act in the presence of such “important” people.

One of the district managers wore suits with ties so tight that I’m sure he lost more than a few brain cells from lack of oxygen. He spoke to us in curt short sentences while giving us looks as though he would gleefully chop our heads off if we gave him a 1/2 of a reason to. He was one bitchy gay man and we were all a little terrified of him, until one Monday, when one of the stylist’s told us she saw him down by the waterfront in full leatherboy gear. Like Clark Kent, he had a secret life and after that we all stood a little taller and braver around him.

What about you? Do you have a secret life? Well, I do and I would love to share it with you but then it wouldn’t be a secret anymore, would it? Yeah. You knew I was going to say that.

If you want to read more about people and their secret lives, “The Independent” newspaper runs a weekly feature every Saturday where they ask famous people that very question. Click here for an Agyness Deyn confession.

 

