Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Tuesdays should be street style pictures but since I got out of the habit, I don’t have anything to post. You’re probably thinking I couldn’t hack it and you may be right; only time will tell. Until the chips have fallen, I’ll share with you an amazing graffiti writer who recently threw up a piece on St. Denis, right next to a new art gallery that I have yet to explore.

Labrona is a classically trained artist who became infatuated with graffiti art. His training is self-evident as his unique style breaks new ground in street art. I can see South American influences mixed with cubist styles, like the great Picasso and Georges Braque, and topped with a dollop of graffiti style. Given that Hip Hop culture has its roots in jazz traditions and “immigrant” culture, the influences he brings to his work blend perfectly.

Lately I’ve been a little bored with the graffiti I see and have been hoping that a new style would break out and bring it to a new level. Not that I’m an expert, only an enthusiast, but Labrona, if you’re reading this, keep it up. You’re onto something here!

 

