Tags

, , , , ,

I always thought that if I worked in the fashion industry,  I’d be able to wear whatever I wanted everyday and, other than a quick once over, no one would bat an eyelash. The fact is there’s always gonna be someone judging you and so I dress in my most acceptably boring clothes and keep the fun stuff for after work and weekends. It seems silly to me that we’re supposed to keep sex appeal and personal identity out of the work place because flirting going to happen no matter how you’re dressed. After all, isn’t it a person’s personality that can make or break an outfit? And how long can you keep that under wraps?

I really shouldn’t worry so much about how I dress and I don’t know why I do these days. The only reason I can think of is that I’ve read one too many advice columns on workplace behaviour and this is the result. I lost my personality and have submitted to the “rules of acceptable behaviour”. I’ve become, aaahh, boring! The truth is, very often, my favorite people at work are the ones that completely maintain their individually, no matter how unconventional and, still, are at the top of their game. It takes guts to stay true to yourself and more of us should do it.

Here’s a picture of me and what I wish I wore to work today. It’s not completely over the top but short skirts and high heels don’t make always make friends in the work place. I like this outfit because it makes me feel powerful like Melanie Griffith in the movie “Working Girl”.

20121210-211017.jpg

