Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Tavan and Mitto

Montreal Fashion week is coming up here in Winterland aka Canada and I’m trying to get excited. I’ve attended a few shows in the past but, honestly speaking, I couldn’t get excited about most of what I saw and I know I’m not alone in my opinions. At one of the most publicized and highly anticipated shows, I spoke to a photographer, at , who dryly said, “It’s not Paris, is it?” And, we left it at that.

It’s not that Montreal and the rest of Canada don’t have talent, far from the truth. Rad Hourani, DSquared, and Erdem have all beyond proved that Canadians have the chops to design continuously interesting and sellable clothes. There are many others who are much beloved by Montrealers but don’t get the accolades they deserve. Payam Tavan and Mike Mitto, of Tavan & Mitto, trained at Domus Academy in Milan and La Chambre Syndicale de la Haute Couture in Paris respectively, worked at Gianfranco Ferré and Chanel, and then returned to Montreal to open their own design business.  It’s been 17 years since they opened and their time for greater exposure is about due.

I once had the pleasure of “fighting” over a roll of fabric with them and, I can say without hesitation, that not only are they fun to wrestle with but they’re gracious and generous as well (they let me have the roll!) Tavan & Mitto designs reflect their  sophisticated, fun loving personalities. Masters of simple, eye catching elegance, their classic cuts and luxurious fabrics will make your hard earned money go far when investing in a piece.

On a side note, they’re currently having an 80% off sale of their F/W 2012 collections where shirts and dresses can be bought for as little as $25. Drop by their store at 5334 St-Laurent Blvd to take advantage. Although I could post a few pictures of their F/W collection, you can see them all on their website http://www.tavanmitto.com Instead, take a look at these designs for S/S 2013 and if you’re not yelling “why aren’t these two more famous?” by the end of the picture show then I suspect we may have very different tastes in fashion.

TM1

TM4

TM5

TM6

TM10

TM7

TM8

TM9

TM2

All pictures taken from the Tavan and Mitto official website, tavanmitto.com

